Explore our beautiful Great Barrier Reef Islands

Australia’s Great Barrier Reef has over 900 islands of  300 coral cays and 600 continental islands.

The islands that encompass the Great Barrier Reef support 2,195 types of known plants, three endemic.  Green Island, off Cairns, is a 6,000-year-old Coral Cay and a National Park.

The southern islands, especially in the Whitsunday region, are the most diverse and support 1,141 plant species propagated by birds.

Would you like to know more about the Great Barrier Reef Islands?

Our Great Barrier Reef Islands list includes something for everyone, all with a tropical holiday vibe.

Starting with Green Island and Fitzroy Island, just 45 minutes off the coast of Cairns, they offer lovely island experiences.

Next, we feature a day trip to Lizard Island or a fantastic getaway on Haggerstone Island or Orpheus Island.


Visitors can explore Fitzroy Island and Green Island from Cairns.  Both islands offer coral viewing off the beach and suit families and couples.   During your stay, rainforest walks, a glass-bottom boat, and crocodiles at Marineland Melanesia.

Next, South of Cairns, visitors can spend a day exploring the Frankland Islands group, snorkel, and paddleboard.

Other islands offering exclusive luxury include Bedarra Island, Lizard Island, Magnetic Island and Haggerstone Island.  There are also great liveaboard and sleep-on-the-reef options out of Cairns for something different.

Port Douglas

From Port Douglas, visitors can spend a whole day or half-day on the beautiful Low Isles.  An inner Reef comprises two coral cay islands and over fifty-five acres of the surrounding Reef.

Whitsunday Islands

Visitors have fantastic accommodation options, including excellent holiday apartments, resorts and hotels.  The surrounding areas are perfect for families.  Family-friendly islands include Daydream Island, Hamilton Resort, Hayman Island and Heron Island.

While you are in the beautiful Whitsundays, a visit to Whitehaven Beach is a must.

Southern Great Barrier Reef

The Southern Region offers quaint accommodation options of camping, cottages, and bungalows.  These islands are better suited for weekend and multi-day getaways.

Visitors can access these islands from Yeppoon, Agnes Water, Town of 1770, Bundaberg and Hervey Bay.  All offer different types of accommodation, with several eco-design options.

Lady Elliot Island, Lady Musgrave Island, and Pumpkin Island are nature-focused destinations with eco-resorts that offer snorkelling straight off the beach.

Fraser Island, the World’s largest sand island, is also in this region.  This island features stunning perch lakes, beaches and rock pools.